Bells
Bells

The peel of eight bells were imported in 1853 from Dublin by Archbishop Goold. They were cast by Murphy's bell foundry and are believed to be the only ring of eight bells cast by Murphy that are still in operation today.

The bells were designated for St Francis’ Church in Lonsdale Street, but as there was no tower at this church they lay idle until 1868 when they were installed in the finished south tower of St Patrick’s.

The bells are dedicated to the Sacred Heart, the Most Pure Mother of God, the Immaculate Heart of Mary, St Joseph, St Francis Xavier, and All Saints.

The bells are unique in that they were cast unturned and ring in an anti-clockwise direction. They are set in the key of F natural and the whole peel weights 3.5 ton.